.

Schools Stay Open; Wind Chill Advisory In Effect to Noon, Again Thursday Night

The National Weather Service Chicago has announced that the Windchill Advisory will be in place again, starting at 6 p.m. Thursday and continuing through 10 a.m. Friday.

No alerts and nothing on the website, so School District 304 appears to be open for business as of 6 a.m. Thursday, but be careful.

There's a Windchill Advisory in place until noon Thursday.

The National Weather Service Chicago has announced that the Windchill Advisory will be in place again, starting at 6 p.m. Thursday and continuing through 10 a.m. Friday.

THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN CHICAGO HAS ISSUED A WIND CHILL
ADVISORY...WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 6 PM CST /7 PM EST/ THIS
EVENING TO 10 AM CST /11 AM EST/ FRIDAY. THE WINTER WEATHER
ADVISORY HAS BEEN CANCELLED.

FOR THE WIND CHILL ADVISORY...

* WIND CHILL VALUES...THROUGH THIS MORNING 20 TO 25 BELOW ZERO.
  FOR TONIGHT WIND CHILLS OF 20 TO 30 BELOW ZERO.

* IMPACTS...FROST BITE AND HYPOTHERMIA CAN OCCUR IN A MATTER OF
  MINUTES.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A WIND CHILL ADVISORY MEANS THAT THE WIND WILL COMBINE WITH THE
VERY COLD AIR TO GENERATE LOW WIND CHILLS. THIS WILL RESULT IN
FROST BITE AND LEAD TO HYPOTHERMIA IF PRECAUTIONS ARE NOT TAKEN.
IF YOU MUST VENTURE OUTDOORS...MAKE SURE YOU WEAR A HAT AND
GLOVES.

BRING PETS INDOORS.
Kristine Snider January 23, 2014 at 07:27 AM
Well, my kids will be staying home anyway. This weather is nuts.
J.J. January 23, 2014 at 09:35 AM
Kept mine home too.
Momx4inGeneva January 23, 2014 at 10:44 PM
Kept my daughter home as we'll. She spent the day reading and studying.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »