Kane County Farmers Now Eligible for Disaster Aid

USDA gives Lake and McHenry counties primary disaster designations, makes Kane farmers eligible for assistance.

U.S. Rep. Randy Hultgren, 14th Congressional District, announced Wednesday that Lake and McHenry counties have received primary disaster designations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, which also classified Kane County as “contiguous” and eligible for disaster assistance from the Farm Service Agency.

A week ago, the USDA gave Lee and Whiteside counties primary disaster designations, and giving contiguous designations to Bureau, DeKalb, Henry and Kendall counties.

“This is the worst drought Illinois has seen in more than 50 years,” Hultgren said. “Thankfully, farmers, producers and even other businesses in my district can now apply for assistance to maintain stable operations for the year, despite the extraordinary circumstances.”

On Tuesday, Hultgren announced loans available through the Small Business Administration for nonfarm-related and farm-related entities, such as small businesses, cooperatives and nonprofits, which also have suffered because of this year’s drought.

Hultgren serves on the House Agriculture Committee. Last week he voted in favor of the Agricultural Disaster Assistance Act of 2012 (House Resolution 6233), which reauthorized the Livestock Forage Disaster Program, the Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees, and Farm-raised Fish Program,


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »